Formula Ford

24-car Field Ready to Seize The Bend


Four years after our National Formula Ford round at Mallala Motorsport Park in 2014, next week the Australian Formula Ford Championship is returning to South Australia.

A field of 24 Duratec-powered cars will be competing at The Bend Motorsport Park to support the inaugural Supercars event at Australia’s newest facility.

The first half of our 2018 campaign has given us three different round winners, with Hunter McElrea (two round wins), Hamish Ribarits and Zac Soutar taking honours this year. Soutar was also the first privateer to win a National round after Cameron Hill’s supremacy in the 2016 Australian Formula Ford Series.

McElrea is currently leading the championship, 29 points clear of Sonic Motor Racing Services team-mate Ribarits. Zac Soutar’s brilliant performance at Sandown graduated him third in the championship standings, only 48 points adrift of Ribarits.

Some of our competitors have already sized up the new circuit during round two of the South Australian Formula Ford Championship in June. CHE driver Lachlan Mineeff was one of them and impressed everybody when he set the lap record for the International Circuit at 1.58.562. We caught up with the 15-year-old from Bowral to get his impressions on the new circuit in South Australia.

“It (The Bend Motorsport Park) is a great facility and it is a great opportunity for both me and my sponsors supporting the Supercars.” said Mineef, who then continued:

“It is a highly technical circuit and is a great track for Formula Ford, there is a long straight and multiple high speed corners and also a few low speed corners which will create close racing. I think it will be one of if not the best circuit on the calendar.”

During the race meeting at The Bend Motorsport Park, all of our sessions will be televised live on Foxtel Channel 506 as part of the Supercars TV coverage.

Weekend schedule

Friday, 24th August
Free Practice 1 – 8:00am
Free Practice 2 – 11:45am
Qualifying – 1:50pm

Saturday, 25th August
Race 1 – 10:00am

Sunday, 26th August
Race 2 – 9:20am
Race 3 – 4:30pm

Formula Ford entry list

#2 Hunter McElrea – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#3 Courtney Prince – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#4 Angelo Mouzouris – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#5 Hamish Ribarits – Sonic Motor Racing Services
#6 Paul Zsidy – Borland Racing Developments
#10 Zac Soutar
#12 Bart Horsten – Fastlane Racing
#14 Lachlan Mineeff – CHE Racing Team
#16 Thomas Smith – G Force Mygale
#20 Gavin Dumas – G Force Mygale
#27 Paul Di Biase
#28 John Blanchard
#29 Nathan Herne – BF Racing
#47 Thomas Sargent – CHE Racing Team
#55 Samuel Dicker – Fastlane Racing/Tandersport
#60 Cody Donald
#66 Benjamin D’Alia – Borland Racing Developments
#73 Cameron Shields – BF Racing
#76 Andy Simpson
#88 Harrison Goodman – BF Racing
#91 Christopher Slusarski
#97 Liam McLellan – Synergy Motorsport
#98 Conor Nicholson
#99 Matt Roesler

2018 Australian Formula Ford Championship pointscore (top 10)

Hunter McElrea – 208 pts
Hamish Ribarits – 179 pts
Zac Soutar – 131 pts
Angelo Mouzouris – 112 pts
Nathan Herne – 111 pts
Liam McLellan – 105 pts
Lachlan Mineeff – 96 pts
Bart Horsten – 93 pts
Cameron Shields – 84 pts
Courtney Prince – 57 pts
About the Australian Formula Ford Championship

Originating in the UK in 1967, Formula Ford is an entry-level open-wheel formula, widely regarded as the first major stepping stone into car racing from karting. Held annually since 1970, the Australian Formula Ford Championship has been the category for young, aspiring racing drivers to demonstrate their ability and has been renowned for producing future champions in top-tier motor racing categories in Australia and globally.

To continue fostering young talent, the Australian Formula Ford Championship formed an alliance with Andersen Promotions, promotor of the Mazda ‘Road to Indy’ driver development ladder. The 2018 Australian Formula Ford Champion will earn a golden ticket to enter the annual Mazda Road to Indy Scholarship Shootout, providing the winner a US$200,000 scholarship to race in the USF2000 Series the following season and a defined pathway to the Verizon Indycar Series.

This partnership provides the groundwork to reach the Indianapolis 500, the world’s highest-attended one-day sporting event. The race was won in 2018 by Will Power – a graduate of Australian Formula Ford.

If you would like to get involved in Australian Formula Ford or need further info about our category, visit our website [] or contact our administrator at 0422 840 300.

You can become a member of the Formula Ford Association and help support the category by filling in our membership form at this link.

2018 AFFC Calendar

Round 1 – Winton Motor Raceway – March 9-11
Round 2 – Queensland Raceway – April 20-22*
Round 3 – Wakefield Park – May 25-27
Round 4 – Sandown Raceway – July 20-22*
Round 5 – The Bend Motorsport Park – August 24-26
Round 6 – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit – September 28-30
Round 7 – Sydney Motorsport Park – October 26-28*

*rounds of the 2018 Australian Formula Ford 1600 Championship

About Alice Piccolo

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *